Settling Back In

Back from my partially self-imposed and mostly circumstantial blogging hiatus and (nestling in) it feels so great to be back!

Hi, friends and readers!

Like I posted about before, my parents and I planned a trip to Europe for earlier this month. We flew out on the 9th and we returned on the 21st. I feel like it would/will take multiple posts to show you all the cool pictures I took, places I’ve now been to and seen, and some of the crazy delicious, decadent, and exquisite food I ate. I fully immersed myself in the culture of the countries we visited (Germany, France, and England) and enjoyed. I expected and feared to come back 5 pounds heavier, and actually even planned for it in advance, by packing two different sizes of jeans. I just knew my body wouldn’t fair well with the butter, and the cream, and the sugar and dairy and wheat.

Well, good news! Even after two weeks and, I swear to you, no carbs left behind… I maintained the entire trip! Can I get an amen?!

I mean, when does THAT happen? I’m notorious of going into vacation mode with the best intentions but end up encasing myself at each meal with horrible foods, succumbing and surrendering to the Vacation Gain. It somehow, miraculously, didn’t happen to me this time. I worked out (officially) 4 times while we were there, but walked hours each day while sightseeing, and hauled ass up stairs with both my luggage AND my mom’s to get to the right metro. I went to the hotel weight rooms in both London and France and hit both StairMasters like nobody’s business. I lifted weights in a full body circuit twice. Between these sessions + the daily activity, I made a clean sweep in burning off those calories.

OKAY. So, the food. The food, you guys, was just incredible. Let’s start with the croissants in France. Michael’s mom warned me and encouraged me to try one of these. I had two while we visited Paris. Now, let me just say that those of us in the United States haven’t got a freaking CLUE how a real French croissant should be- the texture, the taste, hell… any of it. The experience of eating it. You don’t just ignorantly inhale one at the office. In France, you order one on nice dishware, sit down with a fresh cappuccino and nearly make love to your croissant, which are like fluffy, light clouds of butter. They aren’t thick; they don’t weigh you down. They pretty much kiss you with decadence.

french croissant

The highlight of my trip were the desserts, my friends. I can confidently say I had dessert every single day of the vacation. Yes, that would be 13 days. Straight. Between chocolate fondant on Paris day 2, which when you poked at it with your spoon, just oozed hot chocolate sauce all over your place, colliding into the slowly-melting vanilla bean ice cream. Dear reader, please tell me you are salivating, too. I hope it’s not just me.

Anyway, more highlights from my trip: the sights, the hotels, and more food! I cannot wait to travel back to Europe again someday!

The London Eye in London, England
The London Eye in London, England
Frankfurt, Germany
Frankfurt, Germany

 

Trafalgar Square in London
Trafalgar Square in London

 

Ahh, German food.
Ahh, German food.
Chocolate Fondant Cake in Paris, France
Chocolate Fondant Cake in Paris, France

 

Eiffel Tower
Eiffel Tower

 

Getting to Frankfurt from Salt Lake City took a 3 hour flight to JFK in New York, then an 7 1/2 hour flight into Germany. We stayed there for a night before taking the train to Paris on Monday morning, and stayed in Paris for 2 nights before leaving for London, England. We saw both Les Miserables and Wicked the Musical while in London for three nights, then back to Frankfurt. We stayed one more night there before flying back the States.

 

Frankfurt, Germany Marriott
Frankfurt, Germany Marriott
Renaissance Paris Arc de Tromphe Hotel
Renaissance Paris Arc de Tromphe Hotel
London Marble Arch Marriott Hotel
London Marble Arch Marriott Hotel

 

 

My mom and I went to Disney World with my oldest brother and his family for a few nights before coming back to Utah. I came home so jet lagged and was sick with a touch of the flu. I was pretty run down and exhausted, not to mention having a fever of 102. I couldn’t wait to see Michael, too. Feeling much better now and it’s nice to be back on Mountain Time. Next time I head out of the States, I’m thinking it’ll be to Poland. 🙂

Cheers and Ciao, my Friends!

xx A

One thought on “Settling Back In

  1. This reminded me so much of a 5wk trip I took around Europe last year with my parents. And although I was in the midst of my eating disorder, I still did the tasting in each country and am so happy I did. You’re so right about croissants in France!! I hope someday I can go back when I’m fully healthy and enjoy the things that I did miss because of being sick.

    Props to you, looks like you had a hell of a time!

Leave a Reply

