30 Days of Truth: Day 10

Sorry, you guys. This is so very long overdue. M and I returned home from visiting Maui over New Years and are getting settled into our normal routines again. I’m taking a quick break from work to continue on with my 30 Days of Truth, which to be honest, may take a full 90! Here goes.

Day 10 : Someone You Need To Let Go, Or Wish You Didn’t Know

Quite honestly, I can’t think of a lot of people I regret having in my life. Most of them are there because I made a way to put them there. One person that rises above this, though, would be the guy I lost my virginity to when I was just 17. We’ll refer to him as “B.” He and I attended the same high school and he was a few years older than I. He played on the school soccer team back when my brother, Marc, attended, though they weren’t close friends. More like acquaintances. This was during my escapade on MySpace. We had mutual friends and added each other over the social media site and started talking about how he knew Marc, about what he was doing in life, and so on. With awful teenage hormones raging and whirling around, conversations led to us flirting, then talking about hooking up sometime. Wanting to seem like a cool girl to him, I agreed and went along with it. I knew next to nothing about sex, just to use protection, which B thankfully had. I always heard people say that you should wait to lose your virginity to someone you truly love… but I didn’t think much about it. What was one night, right? Wrong. Just as most teenage girls do, I left that night secretly hoping for more of a real relationship. Cut to the end of the story- it wasn’t going to happen. I was a “nice girl”, but he “wasn’t ready to date,” translation: “I’m a tool. I really only wanted the booty call and you happily obliged.” Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

