Day 8 of 30 Days of Truth: “Hell”

Day 8 of the 30 Days of Truth: “Someone Who Made Your Life Hell or Treated You Like Shit”

Fun. Today, I introduce you to Someone Who Shall Not be Named. This person came into my life when she moved from the East Coast to my little hometown in Utah. I was currently in the whirlwind of an on-again, off-again relationship in my Junior year of high school, and she was a Sophomore. Even though I was in the public school system in this area for more than 10+ years prior, I still felt like the New Girl in school. I still didn’t fit in anywhere or with any group. I naturally wanted to make nice with other newcomers and perhaps try to make some new friends that way. Well, not with this girl. Right from the start, I could tell she had a major chip on her shoulder. After I’d had enough of the flaky  and unkind relationship I was in and had broken things off permanently, she sought (what she considered) vengeance and “stole” him from me. Childish MySpace messages were sent back and forth from each of us, and she left things off with, “You’d better watch your back, or I’ll kick your ass.” What egged her on? When I mentioned that she could have my “used merchandise.” Okay, I admit, that was a low blow. But clearly, where she came from, you make a name for yourself by beating people up…? Let’s just say I don’t take threats kindly, and even though I wasn’t even alarmed by the chance of physical harm, I felt a sense of insecurity for a while at school. Years later and I’d see her in the aisles inside Target (after having lost the weight), pause to say “Hi, _____,” smile, and walk off. I learned early on to smile at the people who hated me most and get on with my life. It’s served me well.

Leave a Reply

