The Cookie Crumbles

Something I’ve been guilty of in the past, like most people with weight/food issues, is justifying everyday bits and leftovers as not eating. When talking to my other friends about this, it seems that most of us are guilty of this. We wonder why our weight loss efforts are stalled, when what we have tracked should be earning us weight loss. We get away with eating without actually eating (while being present). Those little bits and bites end up being 400-500 calories more each day.

Some examples:finishing your kid’s last bites of pizza, tasting the dinner or dessert as you’re cooking/baking it, continuing to eat the leftovers after you’re already full, breaking a cookie in half to avoid any guilt of eating an entire one. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve done that last one. I always justified it as having a taste, but not wanting to actually splurge, as if breaking the chocolate chip cookie broke the calories up, too.

When I was little, there was this rule in our house that we had to finish whatever food was left on our dinner plates. I was an official member of the Clean Plate Club for more than 18 years. I can understand not wanting to waste food… but this ended up being a nightly inconvenience. I wasn’t able to spoon up the extra mashed potatoes and FedEx them to the starving children in Africa. Instead of seeing the situation and beginning to make less for the family. We easily had a spread large enough to feed 8-10 people… in our family of 5.

After each meal and being uncomfortably stuffed, I became accustomed to the food coma and dragging enough to need a nap. In the past 5 years, though, I’ve learned that meals should satisfy and energize you, not make you sleepy. Your stomach shouldn’t be so full that you need to unbutton your jeans or lie down for a few minutes to rest. I learned that your stomach is really only the size of your fist- that’s all it can hold and comfortably and efficiently digest. Looking at the standard American plate these days, I’d say you could happily fill 3-4 other people.

I think I’ve only scratched the surface, though. What ways have you eaten without actually eaten?

xxo,
A

One thought on “The Cookie Crumbles

Leave a Reply

