On the Road Again

Conjuring up beloved lyrics from John Denver this morning as I greet half marathon training day 1 with open arms, my friends. There’s something so calming about running for me, especially races and going long distances.

It’s just you, the pavement/concrete/treadmill, and your breath and thoughts. I seem to do my most creative thinking when I’m out on a long run, too. I can untangle problems in my life, come to conclusions that I wouldn’t reach otherwise, and make peace with myself, my decisions, and my regrets about anything in the past. Time seems to stand still (up until that last, heavy-legs mile) and I’m appreciating my scenery, sending good vibes to the passing cars around me, and taking a break from our very fast-paced world. With each stride, I’m solidifying my resolve to be a better me in all facets of my life, and I’m constantly attaching myself to new goals I have for myself in my Beachbody business, my own fitness, and hobbies I’d like to pursue.

I’d be confident to say that all exercise, and running in particular, is as good as any therapy session available. Maybe it’s the fresh air that clears my head. Maybe it’s the chance to get out of these four walls and experience what real life is like out in the open. I get to witness so many other lives moving forward all around me and I have time to wonder about their unique, individual stories and circumstances. Maybe it’s another chance to keep my routine going and the fact that with each run, I rid myself a little more of that emotional weight that hangs on my shoulders. I do it because I can.

I feel an intense gratitude that I’ve pushed myself to be able to run as far as I can. I feel thankful that I am healthy enough to partake in all of my favorite activities, to have these strong, toned legs to carry me for miles and not waiver. Exercise has become so much more to me than to burn off unwanted calories and stay in “trainer shape;” I’m going to be able to help others achieve their own goals simply for setting a good example myself.

2 thoughts on “On the Road Again

  1. “It’s just you, the pavement/concrete/treadmill, and your breath and thoughts. I seem to do my most creative thinking when I’m out on a long run, too. I can untangle problems in my life, come to conclusions that I wouldn’t reach otherwise, and make peace with myself, my decisions, and my regrets about anything in the past.”

    I feel exactly the same when out cycling. There’s something almost spiritual about long-distance aerobic execise. If you ever have any time off, the brain (or maybe the soul) seems to miss it before the body.

Leave a Reply

