Remedy for the Diet

How did your Thanksgiving go? Did you stick to your “plan,” or did you just let it all slide?

I woke up Thursday morning, feeling extremely headachey and cold so I spent most of the day, bundled under a blanket, working from my iPhone. My husband left home around 2pm to visit his family and have Thanksgiving dinner. The night before, we baked mixed berry cobblers (mini souffle cup-portions for better portion control. Not that my in-laws even think two ounces about that) and a pumpkin cheesecake. I was more bummed that I couldn’t witness everyone enjoying my desserts than I was missing the traditional dinner. I spent a lot of time thinking about these traditions, how they start, how they evolve for modern times, and why anyone’s too afraid to break the mold. Fear or rocking the apple cart, perhaps?

Everyone and anyone who’s ever been successful at long-term weight loss knows that your new actions need to become your “new lifestyle” and not just a “diet” that is sure to end and begin again the following “Monday.” But what does THAT even mean? Well, to me, a new lifestyle is just that– new: something entirely out of the ordinary, perhaps the opposite of what your habits have been; lifestyle: the way you live your life, comprised of all of the choices and actions you make each and every day. Essentially, these new actions take patience and require time to get used to. But the payoff? Oh, so worth it! I wasn’t going to be the girl, looking forward to just blowing my hard-earned work on one meal, because I have the hardest time getting myself back on track. What works for me is having a small treat once a week instead of a gigantic meal 4 times a year.

So what exactly does that mean? You mean I can’t just sort of, kind of start to make better choices when I feel like it, when it’s convenient, or when others are watching? Not if you want the weight off for GOOD.

This new lifestyle isn’t a run-of-the-mill, one-size-fits-all. It’s going to be different for everyone. You find what works for you and you work it, each and everyday. This isn’t something you start on with and then quit soon- you’ll be living this for every single day for the rest of your life.

For me, so much of my thinking, so many of my habits had to dramatically change. It was really hard at first. I was extremely resistant because change is uncomfortable. I didn’t think I deserved to be skinny, to be happy, to actually be successful in life. It took me a good 2-3 weeks of patience and an attitude of “just do it” and stop overthinking to get over the hump. 21 days passed and I wasn’t dreading a morning workout. I didn’t cringe at the thought of a food prep day. More than anything, I could NOT wait until I was back on the scale the next week, back with my measuring tape, and seeing my current clothes falling off my transforming body. I could NOT wait until I could go shopping again for a brand new size, one I hadn’t even seen back in grade school. Shopping was fun. Going out was fun. Just being alive was fun.

Who’s to say you couldn’t be a runner/dancer/fitter/stronger, able to do pushups/swim/run marathons/compete in fitness shows/be the best you? It all starts in your head. It all starts with you questioning that there are better things out there in life for you than just parking it on the couch, night after night, junk food in tow. There are endless possibilities for you and for me. All it takes is us having the courage to question what we’ve been doing and to start actually LIVING life and not just going through the motions.

The difference between who you ARE and who you WANT to be… is simply what you do.

One thought on “Remedy for the Diet

Leave a Reply

