Thankful

Sometimes, it hits me how truly blessed I am to live in a country that has air conditioning, running (clean) water, a sheltering roof over my head, food on my table, and the ability to create the life I want for myself. I know I take far too many things for granted, and all it takes it a bought with the flu or some kind of misfortune to happen when I realize how fortunate I am to have the things I do, to live in the place that I do. This morning, I received an email check-in from a nonprofit organization that’s very near and dear to my heart, Water.org. For every cent that is donated (through means of buying a BPA-free water bottle, or donations in free will), a community in a war-torn area or underprivaleged country is sent and set up with clean water, sanitary bathing locations, and even the chance to use a flushing toilet. These advances mean that these humble people get to avoid life-threatening diseases that come from unsanitary situations. It’s amazing how little donations here and there add up to something really special and life-changing. Here’s the full story: http://water.org/2011/10/banesas-slum-get-a-toilet-embraces-health/

 

I’m counting my many blessings.

A

 

One thought on “Thankful

  1. My daughter likes to remind me that complaining about running for fitness in the heat/cold, while wearing my $100 Asics shoes and Nike Dryfit gear is a “first world” problem. Especially given that many people in the world are running for their lives… literally from war, famine, and thirst. Great reminder, and a worthy organization. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

