Portion Distortion

Which of these meals looks more satisfying to you?

Both meals are 300 calories worth. The first is a bowl of angel hair pasta with turkey and sauce on top, and the second is 6 cups of green beans. I’ve always been what I considered a “volume eater.” Regardless of calories, macronutrients, and minerals, I tend to pick the foods that are lowest in calories so I can have a lot of food but stay within my calorie limit. I can see the good in this, because it leads me to pick vegetables and fruit very often, both of which are crucial for a healthy body. On the other hand, I’ve shyed away from still-nutritious, though calorie-dense foods that could also provide benefit. Some of which being things like: avocados, olive oil, nuts, and seeds.

For some reason, it was hard for me mentally to eat these higher calorie foods because the portion seemed so much smaller. I think I was (and am) afraid of being hungry that I’ll stretch out those calories as far…as…I….possibly…can.

I’m finally learning that I can be just as satisfied (but not “stuffed” per se) with the right combination of macronutrients. My meals these days are now based on a healthy carbohydrate, a lean protein (egg whites, turkey, chicken, tuna), and a small serving of healthy fat (usually 1/4 of an avocado).

It isn’t healthy for me to be so consumed (pun not intended) with constant thoughts of food, even when I’m not physically hungry.

As much as I fear it, true, physical hunger is a wonderful feeling. That feeling that your body’s telling you that it’s time to eat, time to refuel the muscles so you can continue on with today’s activities means that you’re using food in the correct way, and not for emotional purposes.

But, oh, I only get 3 inches in length of avocado for 160 calories and not…. 3 full cups of green beans.

It’s a mental game.

Do you have weird habits with your eating, like I do? Are you adament about your food not touching or certain things having to be on one side of your plate?

3 thoughts on “Portion Distortion

  1. I struggle with some very similar issues. I’ve been able to conquer a lot of food struggles, but there are a couple that are so ingrained… it’s like someone nailed them inside my head. Recognizing the issue is the first step to beating it. Great post.

  2. I think about food all the time — it has been and always will be my biggest weakness. I could be eating one meal and already thinking about the next, which is why I have to have several small meals instead of three larger ones. Oh food! It is a mental game.

  3. I am the exact same! I’ll over eat eggplant and sweet potatoes and avoid spaghetti! Just because the eggplant falls in my calorie budget doesn’t mean I need to eat it all! This post was very eye oppening

Leave a Reply

